Summer 2012

Standard

The end of May found my mom, Jami, her 4 kids, and I on a road trip to Denver.  We had a total blast!  Mom rented a nice, new suburban so that we could all drive together.  Ryan, Ashley, Tommy, and Whitney did such a great job on the long trip.  Once we made it to Darin’s house, the party never stopped.  We went to the beach at the their near by lake, he took us on a great tour of his dental school, went on a few bike rides, visited the Denver Museum of Nature and Science, and swam at their pool.  It was a total blast!  We were gone from May 31st to June 3rd.  We sure all had a great time together!

June was super fun but went by way too fast!  My dad had his 2nd Annual Family Swim Party at Roy Aquatic which was so fun!  Good turn out and everyone enjoyed themselves.  We celebrated Jami’s 32nd birthday and Whitney’s 3rd birthday.  My mom and I went up to my Grandma’s house and helped her quilt a quilt for our baby boy.  I never realized what hard work that really is!  Grandma was a great teacher and Grandpa had fun listening to all of our stories!  Mike and I had the fun opportunity to take our little wolf scouts to day camp.  I’d never been to scout camp before so it was a learning experience for me!  The boys did such a great job and had a blast together.  I think Mike wanted to be 8 years old again!  As a family, we went to a Raptor’s baseball game to help support Alacia’s school.  It was a great game and we all had so much fun together!  I had my first baby shower and the 30th and it was a blast!  My best Friend Amanda came the morning before and cleaned my house and decorated for the party.  She is such an amazing person and I’m so thankful we are still so close!  It was so fun to see my friends again and just hang out together.  Thanks again Amanda and Casey for all of your hard work!

July zoomed right on by too!  We had a great time spending the day together with my family on the 4th.  My dad made us all breakfast at the park, then we went to the parade and fun carnival at the park.  After taking a nice needed nap, we had a BBQ and watched the fireworks at the park!  We sure do love living here in Riverdale because they do so many fun festivities and it’s all just in our backyard!  We celebrated Andie’s 1st birthday and Michelle put on quite the exciting party!  My sister’s and mom gave me a super fun family baby shower on the 14th in Jami’s backyard.  It was so fun!  We received so many wonderful gifts for our little man!  We are so blessed!  We had the opportunity to go hear Elder Ballard at an awesome Pioneer Day fireside with my parents and Alacia and later that night we enjoyed the fireworks at WSU.  It was such a fun day!  On the 19th, we went with our good friends Amanda and Kevin to the Pioneer Days Rodeo in Ogden.  We had such a fun time together!  We just love rodeos!  On Saturday the 21st, we went with our friends Rawson and Melanie to the Mormon Tabernacle Choir and Orchestra Pioneer Day concert which featured Katherin Jenkins (Incredible mezo soprano from Whales).  We had dinner at Robintino’s in Bountiful and just thoroughly enjoyed the concert.  It was the best one I’ve been too in such a long time.  Katherine was just recently on Dancing with the Stars so it was so fun to see and hear her in person!  My mother in law and sister in law gave me a super fun baby shower as well on the 27th.  It was with the Jasper/Bischoff side of the family and we had a great time together!  We attended an 8 hour long Child and birth prep class at McKay Dee Hospital on the 28th.  It was a long day but I think we both learned a lot about the whole labor/delivery process and what to expect with a newborn.  We just can’t wait to meet our little baby!!

August so far has been awesome!  We’ve had lots of Dr. appointments which have been so awesome to see our little baby. Both of the dental offices I work in through me a fun baby shower!  Dr. Packard’s was in the office with yummy food and games.  Tammy from my dad’s office held the shower at her house and it was so fun!  Yummy food as well and excellent company.  We got lots of wonderful gifts again and great advice.  Mike finished up his incredibly busy summer semester and did super well in all of his classes.  He is such a hard worker and I’m so proud of all that he does.  He has a week off before the next semester starts back up again.  On the 11th, we had the incredible opportunity to go see Wicked down at the Capital Theater in Salt Lake.  Mike’s parents got tickets for us and we had a wonderful time together.  We went out to PF Changs for dinner before the show and just enjoyed each others company.  It was everyone’s first time seeing it (except for me) and I was just so excited to watch them enjoy the show.  I think it is my favorite Broadway show and I’m so thankful we were able to go!  Mike got a new calling on Sunday the 12th.  He was called to be the Elder’s Quorum 1st counselor.  I’m SO proud of him!!  I think he’s a little nervous but he will do such an amazing job.  He loves to serve and be involved in any way he can.  I’m just a little bummed that he will no longer be working in the scouts with me.  But I know this change will bless our lives too!  On Thursday the 16th, we took a super spontaneous trip up to the cabin.  We stayed through Saturday morning and just enjoyed the time away together.  We rented a canoe from WSU and took it to Smith and Morehouse reservoir.  It was so peaceful to be out on the lake.  We were out there for about 3 hours and then a storm picked up.  We had a fun picnic lunch on the beach before we left.  We watched a few movies, went on a walk, played Monopoly for hours, and saw lots of dear and 1 moose.  It was the perfect little getaway!  On Saturday the 18th, we went up to the Brigham City Temple Open house with my family.  It was such a neat experience to be in the temple with Alacia and most of our nieces and nephews.  The Temple is beautiful inside and I can’t wait to go do a session once it’s dedicated.  We then had lunch at Maddox which of course was just incredible!!  We have so many fun memories there and I’m glad we could be there together as a family!

Well, that basically sums up the summer.  It’s been so busy and hot but a way fun summer!  We just feel so blessed to have the life and family that we have. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

