8 week update (written December 1, 2011!)

Standard

Where has all the time gone?  I can’t hardly believe that it’s been 8 weeks since my last post.  Yes everyone, we are still alive and healthy :) First off, I LOVED general conference!  There were so many wonderful talks that spoke directly to me.  My top two favorites 1)  ‘Children‘ given by Elder Neil L. Andersen and 2)’Love Her Mother‘ given by Sister Elaine Dalton.  The first talk by Elder Andersen helped calm my fears about some day bringing our own little babies into this world and I was lucky enough to be raised by a father like the ones Sister Dalton spoke so highly of.  Many of these words and lessons are exactly what I needed to hear.  General Conference is just amazing.

On October 8-11th, Me, my dad, mom, Alacia, and Jami all loaded a plane and flew to Vegas for the National Dental Association meeting.  My incredible dad was inducted into a highly prestigious dental group known as the ‘International College of Dentists’.  You have to be nominated by another member and be voted upon by a board in order to be inducted.  It was so fun to finally have him be the center of attention.  We had a blast at convention and we did get some sight seeing and shopping in.  Oh, and we went to the Hoover Dam for my first time ever.  It was incredible!!

October 19th just so happened to be my 24th birthday!  For some odd reason, I really struggled with this birthday.  Twenty-four just sounds way old to me.  I guess a lot of my problem was that when I’d tell people how old I was turning, I got the old ‘Oh well I had 2…3…4 babies by that age, what are you waiting for?’  It got under my skin a little but luckily didn’t ruin my day.  My family, especially Mike, made the day so fun and wonderful!  I went to work then had a fun dinner party at my parents with yummy chicken salad sandwiches (my fav!).  Mike had his fall concert that night so I took Ashley with me and we had a great time.  Since we couldn’t do a whole lot on my actually day, Mike took me to the Logan Temple for a session and Maddox for lunch on Friday the 21st.  It was a total blast and a much needed short trip away.  All in all, 24 really isn’t all that bad!  :)

Halloween was awesome as usual.  Mike wanted us to coordinate with our costumes this year and he also decided what we were going to be…. Ash Ketchum and Pikachu (from Pokemon).  Random… yes.  Did I even know who these people were?  No.  But I wanted to be a cute, fun supporting wife and it actually turned out great.  Mike looked Awesome!  He is such a stud!  Michelle and her cute family came down and provided a super yummy and fun Halloween lunch party.  It was so fun to be all together dressed in our silly costumes.

Thanksgiving was a total blast as well.  We were fortunate enough to eat twice!  We had a yummy lunch at Grandma Jasper’s house in Smithfield and enjoyed being with those family members.  We then had dinner with my family at my parent’s house.  It was a busy day but was super fun.  Jami, Michelle, and I also got in our traditional Black Friday shopping and had a great time together.  I’ve got the best sisters ever!

November has been so fun but I can’t believe it’s over already.  Mike went to a few Weber State football games with his dad and brother and I’ve spend tons of time with my mommy.  The semester is finally winding down for Mike and he is really looking forward to having a few weeks of no homework!  He also installed bathroom fans in two of our bathrooms with my dad.  They did a super great job and it was fun to watch them work together.  I also came home from work last week with a wonderful surprise of Christmas lights on my house.  Mike was worried at first to do it but he did a great job and it was a wonderful surprise.   We are LOVING our house still and it’s been fun to decorate for the holidays.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One response »

Leave a Reply

